How Trump destroyed the Alt Right

The sequence of events goes like this:

  1. The Alt Right comes about as a serious alternative to out-of-touch mainstream conservatism
  2. Donald Trump comes along, sees the $100 bill lying on the ground, and champions some of the issues the Alt Right feels most strongly about. These are also the issues a majority of regular Americans feel most strongly about.
  3. Support for Trump becomes the litmus test of Alt Right-ness
  4. Trump proves to be vacuous, but this doesn’t change #3
  5. Hillary paints the Alt Right as “Beavis and Butthead on 4Chan”
  6. Liberated by vacuousness, the Alt Right doubles down on being Beavis and Butthead on 4Chan
  7. The Alt Right ceases to be a serious alternative to out-of-touch mainstream conservatism

Long story short, I’m not voting in November.

4 thoughts on “How Trump destroyed the Alt Right

    • There are quite a few steps missing here.

      Remember, it’s my angriest opinions kept short! Which steps do you think need to be spelled out?

      You’re that bored? Aw, well. Did you vote in the primaries?

      I find the presidential race and associated political developments this year not just interesting but engrossing! But I also find myself thoroughly uninspired. The prospect of President Trump doesn’t inspire enough hope in me to vote for him, while the prospect of President Hillary doesn’t inspire enough fear in me to vote against her. Now that I think of it, they fail to inspire those things in me for approximately the same reasons!

      I did vote in the primaries. I wasn’t proud of it then and I’m even less proud of it now.

      • Between 5 and 6 and 6 and 7 I think. I do not think one man can turn a movement vacuous. Either it was vacuous in the first place (and there’s a place for that) or it’s still not vacuous. I’m not sure which it is.

        The Supreme Court and foreign policy are my biggest inspirations to vote.

      • Well, 3 and 4 are important to that. Once the Alt Right signed up to be dedicated cheerleaders for Trump, they signed up to go wherever the Trump Train takes them, which to a large degree is being decided by Hillary since Trump is just a 2-way mirror.

        USSC – don’t fear Hillary enough; FoPo – don’t trust Trump enough.

Leave a Reply

